Search


Search Results

20 Matches Found


  • Bird Suit

    • Sydney Hegele (Author)
    • Invisible Publishing
    • May 07 2024
    • 9781778430435

    Accessibility

    Elements: Unknown

    Book Description

    A tourist town folk tale of stifled ambition, love, loss, and the bird women who live beneath the lake. Every summer the peaches ripen in Port Peter, and the tourists arrive to gorge themselves on fruit and sun. They don’t see the bird women, who cavort on the cliffs and live in a meadow beneath the lake. But when summer ends and the visitors go back home, every pregnant Port Peter girl knows what she needs to do: deliver her child to the Birds ... More Information
  • NORMA

    • Sarah Mintz (Author)
    • Invisible Publishing
    • Apr 16 2024
    • 9781778430411

    Accessibility

    Elements: Unknown

    Book Description

    Widowhood and weirdos, online and off, NORMA is so dark it smarts. It’s a terrible freedom to linger unaccounted for. Norma is waking up and cracking up. Decades of marriage, housekeeping, and family responsibility: buried with her husband Hank. Now, she’s free, gorging on an online riot of canceled soap operas, message boards, and grocery store focus groups. Transcribing chatter for fifty cents a minute. It’s all of humanity—grim, funny, and ... More Information
  • The Clarion

    • Nina Dunic (Author)
    • Invisible Publishing
    • Sep 05 2023
    • 9781778430299

    Accessibility

    Elements: Textual

    Book Description

    Longlisted for the 2023 Scotiabank Giller Prize Globe and Mail 100 Best Book of 2023 CBC Books, Best Canadian Fiction 2023 Apple Books, Best Canadian Debut 2023 and Best Book of the Month for September 2023 “We all lined up for our whipping by the shouting beauty and tender traumas of life. All of us so sensitive, and now this beautiful girl, with soft brown hair that was shot with gold in the sun. Another one of us starting to stumble.” Peter ... More Information
  • Cattle

    • Winnifred Eaton Reeve (Author)
    • Lily Cho (Introduction Writer)
    • Invisible Publishing
    • Jul 18 2023
    • 9781778430251

    Accessibility

    Elements: Textual

    Book Description

    A novel from the dark heart of early twentieth-century Alberta, featuring a new introduction by Dr. Lily Cho. A bully cattle rancher upends the lives of everyone he encounters and a pandemic makes those lives even more precarious. A full century after its first publication, Cattle remains a story of brutality. A curious Canadian mixture of Hardy and Steinbeck, Cattle is built on the deep contradictions of a settler ideology, asking readers to ... More Information
  • Above Discovery

    • Jennifer Falkner (Author)
    • Invisible Publishing
    • May 23 2023
    • 9781778430213

    Accessibility

    Elements: Textual

    Book Description

    “It is the part that is missing that I am drawn to, that I try to pin down. My gaze is always divided by what is here and what is no longer here. That, for me, is where the deepest pleasure lies, where the sweet overcomes the bitter." A couple coping with a recent loss are tasked with taking stock of a late biology enthusiast’s hoard. A support worker dedicated to rehabilitating young women suffering from, among other things, a certain unexpected ... More Information
  • Tear

    • Erica McKeen (Author)
    • Invisible Publishing
    • Sep 06 2022
    • 9781778430077

    Accessibility

    Elements: Textual

    Book Description

    WINNER OF THE 2023 KOBO EMERGING WRITER PRIZE A GLOBE AND MAIL BEST BOOK OF 2022 49TH SHELF EDITOR’S PICK FOR SEPTEMBER 2022 A reclamation of female rage and a horrifyingly deformed Bildungsroman. Frances is quiet and reclusive, so much so that her upstairs roommates sometimes forget she exists. Isolated in the basement, and on the brink of graduating from university, Frances herself starts to question the realities of her own existence. She ... More Information
  • At Last Count

    • Claire Ross Dunn (Author)
    • Invisible Publishing
    • Jun 14 2022
    • 9781988784960

    Accessibility

    Elements: Textual Visual

    Book Description

    A GLOBE AND MAIL BEST BOOK OF 2022 AS FEATURED IN TORONTO STAR , ZOOMER MAGAZINE , AND ON CBC'S ONTARIO MORNING AND GLOBAL TV For readers who love Mark Haddon, Miriam Toews, and Sally Rooney Paisley Ratchford is trying to keep it together, but in eight weeks, the Toronto apartment building she lives in will be demolished. A last-ditch effort to reclaim her abandoned childhood home on Amherst Island plunges Paisley into memories of growing ... More Information
  • God Isn't Here Today

    • Francine Cunningham (Author)
    • Invisible Publishing
    • May 10 2022
    • 9781988784946

    Accessibility

    Elements: Textual Visual

    Book Description

    WINNER OF THE 2023 RELIT AWARD FOR SHORT FICTION SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2023 INDIGENOUS VOICES AWARDS LONGLISTED FOR THE 2023 CAROL SHIELDS PRIZE FOR FICTION For fans of Chuck Palahniuk, Joyce Carol Oates, and Karen Russell God Isn’t Here Today ricochet between form and genre, taking readers on a dark, irreverent, yet poignant journey led by a unique and powerful new voice. Driven by desperation into moments of transformation, Cunningham’s ... More Information
  • Where the Silver River Ends

    • Anna Quon (Author)
    • Invisible Publishing
    • Mar 01 2022
    • 9781988784915

    Accessibility

    Elements: Textual

    Book Description

    Lyrical realism meets family drama meets sparkling global folktale. Joan, a half-Chinese English conversation teacher unmoored in Europe, flees Budapest for a fresh start. Stepping off the train in Bratislava, she meets Milan, a proud Roma teenager, and they strike up a friendship. Milan helps Joan settle into the city, and in turn, Joan introduces him to Adriana, who has travelled to lay the memory of her dead mother to rest. They form an ... More Information
  • The Tangled Miracle

    • Bertram Brooker (Author)
    • Invisible Publishing
    • Nov 02 2021
    • 9781988784847

    Accessibility

    Elements: Unknown

    Book Description

    A first-rate thriller from one of Canada's pioneer abstract painters. A cult leader announces a miracle will take place and she will rise to heaven. A medium prophesies the date, publicity gets to work, and all of America hums with anticipation. On the appointed day, she disappears and scientist Mortimer Hood, there to verify the miracle, must investigate how—and whether—the whole thing is a hoax, or if the priestess has been murdered. ... More Information